Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 51 to 75 of 75

Thread: Mack 2.0 Discussion

  1. #51
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    135

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RAY@HQ View Post
    You don't have to put in every team in your league, but you get some additional benefits if you do. You can just enter your own team and run reports on it, or lists of free agents, trade targets, etc. It's awfully helpful to look at your whole team and see your staff-wide xERA or PX or whatever. I love that.

    It doesn't allow you to input current standings and project final standings... yet. We are working on that.

    Tinker with it, really the best way to learn what it can do for you.

    This part I cannot figure out. I tried to do a POWER SEARCH and so I put in a > value and it listed every pitcher with a heartbeat.
    As for the FA ,
    Heck, I am just not seeing what you mean on that part
    I have had luck so far with trade comparisons. But, that is about it.

    Is there a "how to" somewhere ?

    I am starting to think this site is completely over my head.
    but, I like winning in fantasy so, want to learn.

    Now I just have to learn to post a forum question that invites responses beyond you and PRHOOD ..... I appreciate your input, but I think we all like to hear various perspectives and reasoning. ** I did listen to your scolding before about keeping one thread going, but I fear that makes people less likely to dig to the current inquiry.
    THANKS.

  2. #52
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Westwood, MA
    Posts
    47,537

    Default

    The "free agent" search works like this: if you have all of your league's rosters entered, you can use the free agent search to just look for guys who aren't owned in your league.

    The dollar values don't correlate to category goals. Every league is different in terms of what goals are needed. Try a search on "SGP vs. PVM" in these forums for details on how the dollar values are calculated.

    If you have a new question, start a new thread... it's cool. We're pretty relaxed most of the time.

  3. #53
    ballu86 is offline Long time listener, First time caller...
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    16

    Question Upload Teams to MACK??

    Is there a way to upload all the teams in my league to MACK?

    I'd like to use MACK to track my league, but thought of manually entering the teams just makes that a non-starter.

    Thanks.

  4. #54
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Westwood, MA
    Posts
    47,537

    Default

    No, we don't have an auto-upload utility. On the plus side, uploading all of your teams is a once-a-year activity. If you get started now, it will benefit you all year long. Especially with our soon-to-be-released projected standings utility.

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RAY@HQ View Post
    Especially with our soon-to-be-released projected standings utility.
    That sounds awesome. How soon do you think that will be?

  6. #56
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Westwood, MA
    Posts
    47,537

    Default

    Weeks, not months.

  7. #57
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    15

    Default mack and the draft guide problems

    The draft guide says that the guide will pick up my mack league that I entered with salaries and keepers for my upcoming draft.

    I ran the guide clicking all the format and telling it to deal with the mack league and all the keepers etc.

    About half of the keepers don't show up in the guide, so I don't know if the inflation calculations are going to be right.

    Then I noticed that Joey Votto was a $5 player ranked below ecarnacion, rasmus, etc.. down about or below 50th on the dollar rank.

    Then I exited and made sure my Mack league was still showing all the keepers as kept..yes it was. and all the players as entered and salaries right, check..

    Ran the draft guide again, same problems, the same keepers missing and Votto continues to stick his tongue out at me below fiftieth position. Something is wrong and I am beginning to think it isn't me.

    Got any advice or help for me?

  8. #58
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Does anyone else get an error when trying to delete a previous league?

  9. #59
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    SW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    189

    Default

    Is there an easier way then click through the gui to create teams / leagues? after partially creating 3 teams with no salary data and 10 more to go i'm done. Any csv import? other import? rotolab import? json import?

  10. #60
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Westwood, MA
    Posts
    47,537

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fxgute95 View Post

    Got any advice or help for me?
    It's worth noting that setting up keepers in MACK doesn't hide them in the CDG results. They are still included, at their specified keeper salary and with the "Kept" flag checked.

    Here's my standard instruction set for debugging MACK keeper config:

    For keepers to get pulled from MACK to CDG, following must all be true:

    - kept players on a team associated with the league in MACK (and the same league selected in CDG)
    - 'use keepers' box checked in CDG.
    - kept players have the 'kept' box checked in MACK.
    - kept players have a salary set in MACK.
    - kept players have a position set in MACK (don't set a pitcher to a hitter position or vice-versa, that will break keeper processing).

    If half of your keepers are being set and half not, you probably need to check their positions. That's the most likely explanation.

    Hope this helps,

    Ray

  11. #61
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Westwood, MA
    Posts
    47,537

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gillyspy View Post
    Is there an easier way then click through the gui to create teams / leagues? after partially creating 3 teams with no salary data and 10 more to go i'm done. Any csv import? other import? rotolab import? json import?
    No import options available at this point, sorry.

  12. #62
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Westwood, MA
    Posts
    47,537

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SgtVane View Post
    Does anyone else get an error when trying to delete a previous league?
    what does the error say?

  13. #63
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RAY@HQ View Post
    what does the error say?
    Unfortunately, there was a problem with the action you just tried to perform.
    Internal error -- incorrect team owner

  14. #64
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Westwood, MA
    Posts
    47,537

    Default

    Are there any teams associated with the league? If so, try deleting the teams first.

  15. #65
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RAY@HQ View Post
    Are there any teams associated with the league? If so, try deleting the teams first.
    That worked

    Thanks

  16. #66
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Can you add "$12" to the report options?
    Thanks,
    LM

  17. #67

    Default

    I think I am in the correct place but what I wanted to ask Ray or whomever can you change the report function in MACK to mimic the power tools? Where you can set up your report but instead of just being able to select your team or a team in a league, you can select ALL BATTERS or ALL PITCHERS.

    I love the reports and I love power tools but it's a lot of entry to fill out the parameters every time especially if you run a report from power tools using a lot of data points. I like to run a report that mimics the player page in the Forecaster magazine and that's a lot of fields to enter into power tools each time so it made me think if in reports you could select all batters it would be a nice pre-built custom query.

    I hope this makes sense but let me know if it doesn't.

    Thanks!

  18. #68
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Westwood, MA
    Posts
    47,537

    Default

    I know Power Tools allows you to do this, but reporting on All Players isn't exactly what MACK is meant for. You really are better off doing that sort of thing in Excel using the player projection files.

    Still, we're planning some MACK work during the season, I'll see what's possible here.

  19. #69

    Default

    Sorry Ray, I mixed myself up. I think a better question would be could you have pre-set queries as an option in power tools?

    Like if I regularly look up hitters with >500 projected ABs, an EYE over .75, PX above 125 and SX above 50. Could power tools let you hold onto your favorite queries so you could quick default to them?


    I might be a total corner case on this so thanks for even talking with me on it. I just think Power Tools would be even better if I didnt have to write my queries from scratch each time. My thing before about reports wouldnt work and I didnt think of it correctly until your response but at least I think I articulated my idea better haha. Thanks Ray. Power tools is so awesome and you can filter down to some good info if you use it right. I love monitoring with it.

  20. #70
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Westwood, MA
    Posts
    47,537

    Default

    Yeah, that might be easier to do technically.

  21. #71
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Medfield, MA
    Posts
    1

    Default

    New to Baseball HQ. Love the site, especially the variety of articles. Question about running reports. During the season, if I want to compare my team's hr's to the other teams in my league - am I able to run a league wide report or do I essentially need to run individual team reports, export to excel, and compare that way? If I am able to run league wide reports I haven't figured out how to do it. Thanks for the help!

  22. #72
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Westwood, MA
    Posts
    47,537

    Default

    Yes, you can only run reports at the team level right now.

    Welcome aboard!

  23. #73
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,151

    Default

    Reading the above response, I'm assuming I just cant put in all the lineups from my league & have Mack spit out a predicted order of finish, correct? I don't have Rotolab but does the CDG do this?

  24. #74
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Westwood, MA
    Posts
    47,537

    Default

    You can't do this in MACK/CDG now, but it's high on our enhancement list.

  25. #75
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,151

    Default

    Looking forward to it. Thanks Ray

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •