Unique Player Names???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unique Player Names???

Hi ... When a player starts appearing in MLB's official stats, is their name unique only to them during their active career in published stats? So if there is 2 players with the name Jose Cruz, will MLB give them unique published names?

I am going to attemp to create a relational db of player info to do analysis on (my Excel skills suck!). Im just wondering how to automate loading data into the db on a yearly basis (would include some past years to maybe).

Any suggestions you might have or who to contact would be greatly appreciated.
    If this is successful I would be willing to share my SQL DB schema with you, if you are interested, As I am fairly new to HQ, I really like the way you approach the game and enjoy your insights. Thanx
    11 Team AL only 5x5 Keeper League
    12 Hitters 10 Pitchers (Holds+Saves)

11 Team NL only 5x5 Keeper League

Have You Checked Lahman?

In case you weren't aware, there's a massive historical archive database already in existence. Check out the below link before burning too much fuel on your own data gathering endeavor. Hat tip: Andy Andres.

"As often is the case, GE is right." -- Davitt@HQ

Comment

Thanx for the link I will check it out. I wasnt really looking for raw stats so much, although your link should make it real easy to take advantage of the raw stats.

I am more interested in cataloging some of the #'s that HQ is creating by player. Being lazy, I dont want to manage the Primary Key for a player, so I was hoping that MLB was already doing it by player name.

Comment

Neither MLB, nor anyone else for that matter, indexes their databases by player name. Everyone uses unique numeric IDs. However, there is no standardized system. Our information provider, Baseball Info Solutions, has their own system; STATS Inc. has a different set of ID numbers, etc.

RON@HQ

Comment