Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Canít access HQ site in Europe

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,651

    Default Canít access HQ site in Europe

    I am currently travelling in Europe and when I try to access BBHQ on my laptop through wifi I get a message saying ďA message from the USA TODAY NETWORK - it appears that you are attempting to visit the site from the location and the European Union. At this point in time we regret to say we cannot make the site available to you.Ē

    HELP. I canít be without HQ for the next two weeks given I am in a heated battle for first place in one league. I can access by phone, but that will run up huge data charges .

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Westwood, MA
    Posts
    45,052

    Default

    Sorry, it's a brick wall put in by corporate ownership. The only way around it is to connect to a VPN outside of the EU.

    The block is geographically based, so I can't open it up by user or anything like that. We know, it sucks. Our apologies.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,651

    Default

    Tell those corporate suits I want two weeks of my subscription fee back! Now Iíll google ďhow to connect via a VPN outside EU.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    3,562

    Default

    Do you know the rationale behind USA Today putting up a barricade to Europe? Seems like they would want Europe's business. Is that common practice these days for news organizations?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Westwood, MA
    Posts
    45,052

    Default

    We hope it's not permanent. But it was related to the new EU privacy regulation (GDPR). They decided to block EU traffic rather than comply with the regulation.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,651

    Default

    Thanks for the VPN suggestion Ray. TunnelBear worked like a charm.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Westwood, MA
    Posts
    45,052

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WillinTO View Post
    Thanks for the VPN suggestion Ray. TunnelBear worked like a charm.
    Oh good! I'll recommend that to others who ask.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-18-2018, 04:25 PM
  2. No access to the PDF
    By ckmookie in forum HQ Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-01-2014, 09:42 AM
  3. (March 20th, 2013) Can't access the site with ROTOPASS login info
    By CottonWisconsin in forum HQ Tech Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-20-2013, 08:48 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •